1

Where did the time go….

Hmmm…. now this one I have been meaning to write for so long, its not funny. It’s probably taken this long because it is that special. It’s for my special boy… my hanu boy 🙂

My Dear Hanu,

I met you when I was a naive young girl – 20 yrs to be exact. I can proudly say that I grew up with you on the way of our amazing journey that started about 10 years back. Yes, a decade full of love, happiness, togetherness (whether far or near), smiles, hugs, warmth, friendship, special moments, moments of helplessness….. and so much more.

Ours’ is a special story. A story that just meant to happen with God’s divine intervention, else how does one even begin to understand, the way we met, the way we spent 10 hrs the first day we met, the way we just became – Us. While looking at the “old” snaps you told me that “this is the top you wore when we first met!” – Yes, it was 23rd Aug, 2000 when we first met. I remember crossing the road as I got off the taxi and seeing a guy standing in front of Gorky Sadan. You gave me chocolates, (!) after me telling you that I am not a big fan of it (!) and I said to myself, in my corky voice “What an idiot!” – little did I know that I would be talking or rather writing about the incident 10 yrs from then. That day is etched in my memory like no other day, it was the most special day – the day we met. I remember walking the streets of Calcutta, eating bhutta, going to Kathleen only to access the loo and ending up eating ice cream there. I remember being mighty impressed by you tipping the doorman…. and so many more things. I’m guessing deep in my heart I knew it would be a special day, else even with shoe bites how else do you explain me not complaining 🙂

Its been amazing Hanu… something that you know I can’t express in a single go. You and me have seen some amazing times. Our want to just be together even now is testimony to things being just the way they were when we met. That’s all you and me have wanted – to be with each other. It’s with this simplicity that we lead our days which makes us who we are to each other. Panu coming has not changed a thing. I remember being on the fence about this change, but it has come so naturally to us that it’s amazing. I think it’s to do with the fabric of what we have – its Us and no matter what – things will just not change because you know what, we really don’t want it any other way.

I am not going to use this space to tell you or enumerate instances where you made me feel special, because that happens every single day. I am just one lucky girl to have her special boy (who is a lefty! yay – but had to pass the voice bit)

We are shortly going to be celebrate 10 yrs of togetherness. Its going to be special but no different that any day that we are together. I will not have it any other way. Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for understanding my ways, for being patient with me, for holding me when I need to be held, for being my strength, for being my confidence, for being my best friend… I can tell you anything under the sun (Gawd, I remember commenting about a guys butt when we were dating and thinking nothing of it, until I discussed it with a friend who was all “WHAT”!!). But most of all thank you for being my Hanu. I can’t imagine me without you….

Here’s to Us, always always…….

Love you,

Your Hanu